Illusions and Reality

“Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.” -Albert Einstein

Capital Steps and Wolf Trap Memorial Day Concert and Fireworks 31 May 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — martieinstein @ 12:28 pm

President's Own Marine Band

It has been a great Memorial Day weekend.  I started off my weekend on Friday night seeing the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo and having dinner at Busboy and Poets with Margie.  The movie was great and helped set the

Margie and Heather chilling on the hill at Wolf Trap

mood for my upcoming Scandinavian trip – although it was set in Sweden and I am going to Norway.  Saturday night I went to see the Capital Steps with a group of fellow Fellows.  They are a musical, satirical comedy troupe with a political bent.  It was a great show and they were definitely equal opportunity satirizers, subjecting people all along the political spectrum to their unique blend of musical satire.  Then last night, it was a return to the Wolf Trap Memorial Day Concert and Fireworks that I first attended last year when I was in town looking for an apartment – I can hardly believe that it has been a year since then and that my great Einstein Fellowship adventure has only two months left.  The concert was a mix of American and patriotic music performed by the President’s Own Marine Band.  This was followed by a spectacular fireworks show.  I went with my friends Margie and Heather and we enjoyed a tasty picnic on the lawn.  Watching the fireworks fill the sky over our heads while lying on the hill was amazing!!

 

Leave a Reply

