Illusions and Reality

“Reality is merely an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.” -Albert Einstein

Earthquakes and Flowers 7 April 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — martieinstein @ 9:39 pm

One of the few pretty trees left.

It’s only Wednesday and it has been an interesting week already.  I spent last weekend in LA, doing some work for Walden as a subject matter expert for a course that’s in development.  On Sunday afternoon as I was hanging out in the hotel waiting to take the red eye back to the east coast I experienced an earthquake.  There was a 7.2 earthquake just over the boarder in Mexico that was felt all over southern California.  It was a very strange sensation.  At first, I felt a little dizzy and then I heard the building creaking and noticed the curtains swaying.  It took my brain a few seconds to put all this together along with the fact that I was in California soooooo….it was an earthquake!

On Monday night, I had the great pleasure of watching Duke win the national championship even though  I was super tired after flying in on a red-eye that morning.  Yesterday afternoon, I went downtown in hopes of seeing some cherry blossoms, but they were almost all gone.  I did get to see a few and enjoy the summer like weather, but I think the warm temperatures accelerated the demise of the blossoms.

Tulips at the White House

 

3 Responses to “Earthquakes and Flowers”

  1. hlemai Says:

    I saw the blossoms on Sunday and they were nearly gone them. If you took pictures at just the right angles though you’d get some really pretty shots.
    Here’s my slideshow if you want to check it out: http://www.cheapandbored.wordpress.com

  2. joel putnam Says:

    Hey Marti,
    So I take it you enjoyed the earthquake? I have had the “pleasure” of experiencing one as well!
    I left a message on Facebook, but I thought this would be a good way as well. I will be in Arlington this week at the Sheraton National Hotel. Will you be in town?

  3. Alina Says:

    Awesome!!! An earthquake!!!! Guess what I’m reading??? The Scarlet Letter! Yes, I know it took me a long time to get to it, but i was reading The Portrait of Dorian Gray and other wonderful things. I’m on the third chapter or so, and i like it already. If you have time, check out my deviantart. Miss ya! 😀


Leave a Reply

